Cinnamon & Maple Granola Recipe 

Granola is such a great food to have in the house all year round. It makes a great breakfast option, and satisfies your sweet tooth for a snack or dessert option. Although there are some great choices when it comes to granola in the super markets, I still think making your own and knowing exactly what you put into it is the best way. Other packaged versions can contain a lot of processed sugar, which is something I’m trying to cut down on where I can.


I’ve tried this type of recipe a couple of times, but my most recent batch is one thats definitely turned out the best. Its delicious and sweet, but all the sweetness comes from natural sweeteners like maple syrup and honey. This recipe uses minimal ingredients, and like my recent Raspberry and Seed breakfast muffins, the items that you use are extremely versatile and can be used on a range of other healthy bakes. 

There are so many ways to use this granola – I love mine in the morning, layering it with yogurt and fruits. This could also be a great snack, or something to have after a workout. It can be amazing sprinkled over porridge to add some different texture, or if you need something really quick just a grab a small handful to munch on! 
So let me start by telling you what ingredients you will need: 

– 2 cups of rolled oats

– 1/2 cup of nuts (I used walnuts and peanuts) 

– 1/4 cup of seeds (I used sunflower and pumpkin)

– 1/4 cup of dried food (any will work but I chose raisins) 

– 1 tsp of vanilla extract

– 1 heaped tsp of cinnamon 

– 2 tbsp of coconut oil 

– 2-3 tbsp of maple syrup 

– Drizzle of honey 

– Pinch of Seasalt 

For the granola I preheated the oven to 180 degrees – and lined a baking tray with parchment paper. I then grabbed a pan and put in my coconut oil, maple syrup, cinnamon, vanilla, Seasalt and small drizzle of honey. I put it over a low heat only for about 2 minutes just until the coconut oil had melted and it was a smooth liquid. 

Once you have that I poured in my 2 cups of oats, the seeds and also the nuts. Mix together until everything is coated with the delicious cinnamon, maple, coconut mixture then pour onto your baking tray. 

I cooked mine for 25 minutes, checking half way through and giving it a slight mix or else the granola on the edges can go quite brown. 

Once your granola has cooked take it out of the oven and this is when you add your dried fruit! When first making this I added mine right at the start with the rest of the ingredients and once it had cooked the raisins had ballooned and cooked and had a very hard chewy texture with a burnt flavour… definitely not something you want added to this! So always add your dried fruit afterwards. 

Then there you have it – your very own homemade maple, cinnamon, fruit and nut granola. Store it in an air tight container for 2-3 weeks. 

2 thoughts on “Cinnamon & Maple Granola Recipe 

Leave a Reply

