Moroccan Cous Cous Recipe 

I love making batches of food that last the week, or at least a few days. Don’t get me wrong I love to cook, but knowing when I get home from work that I don’t need to faff for more than a couple of minutes throwing together lunch for the next day is bliss. 

This Moroccan Cous Cous recipe is just that. It takes very little time, and then once cooked can keep in your fridge for 3-5 days ready to make some delicious lunches. When I’m at work I much prefer a more hearty lunch with grains, salad, veggies and some chicken or fish – I find it keeps me fuller for longer compared to if I just took a sandwich. 

This Cou Cous is perfect just on its own, thrown in with some salad, or added to some pre-cooked chicken and veggies to make a complete meal. 


You will need: (makes about 4-5 portions)

– 1 onion
– 2 peppers

– 1 courgette

– 2 garlic cloves

– 1 tsp of ground cumin

– 1 tsp of ground coriander

– Sprinkle of cinnamon

– 1/4 cup of raisins 

– 1/2 small lemon (juice) 

– 320 ml of Vegetable stock (I used 1 stock cube) 

– 220g of cous cous 

Add the chopped onion, garlic, peppers and courgette to a pan with salt, pepper, and olive in and cook down for about 10 minutes on a medium heat. 

Whilst that is cooking boil the kettle and dissolve your stock cube into the 320ml of water. Once dissolved pour it over your measured out cous cous and cover for a couple of minutes until the cous cous has absorbed all of the water. 

The cous cous will now need breaking up with a fork and fluffing up. I then added all of my spices, raisins and the squeeze of lemon juice and gave it a mix. 

Finally add in your cooked vegetables and give it all a stir round – there you have delicious and filling lunch to have at work, or at any time of the week! 

Leave a Reply

