What I eat in a day #1 (+ recipes)

Breakfast 


Today was a day off work for me – bliss. I started my day with one of my favourite breakfasts when I actually have time to make something. Porridge on the hob. Its all well and good in a microwave when you’re in a rush, but on the hob is so much better. 

For the topping I made some cooked cinnamon apples. For these I simple peeled and chopped 1 apple. Popped it in a pan with a generous sprinkling of cinnamon, 1 tbsp of Maple Syrup and 3 tbsp of Water. I let it cook in the pan for about 5-7 minutes. I like mine Chunky, but you can also blend this up for a more smooth cooked apple sauce. 

For the oats I used half a cup of oats, and 1 cup of almond milk with some vanilla extract and cooked it altogether. I then topped my oats with the delicious apples and added some extra cinnamon and maple syrup. 


Lunch 

I decided to try something different for lunch today and had a go at making my own falafel – and let me tell you it was actually so so easy! Definitely something to prep for the week ahead then you can just chuck them in salads or wraps. 


For the Falafel I used: (makes 8) 

1 can of Chickpeas

2 tbsp of Olive Oil 

Half a chopped red onion (or 1 small one) 

2 heaped tbsp of fresh chopped parsley 

2 tsp of dried coriander leaf  

3 garlic cloves 

1/4 tsp ground cumin 

Sprinkling of Cinnamon (about 1/8 of a tsp) 

Salt & Pepper to taste 

You simply place all of these ingrediants in a food processor and blend until smooth (takes a couple of minutes) Create your falafel patties and place them on a baking tray which will have the olive oil on it. I managed to make 8 of them. Bake in the oven at 180 degreees for 14 minutes and then flip them over and bake for another 14. Add more olive oil if needed. 

I then added my falafel to a salad I had made which included roast sweet potato, red pepper, cucumber, spiralized carrot, tomatoes, on a bed of spinach and rocket – all dressed with balsamic glaze and a generous squeeze of lemon juice. 

With the leftover falafel I’ve recreated this salad for work. 
Dinner 

For dinner I made a Lean in 15 recipe, but had to swap a couple of the ingredients as I was running out of some! I did the spinach satay with Tumeric chicken. 

For this you will need: 

2 handfuls of Spinach (I hardly had any left so also spiralized some courgette to bulk it up) 

Chilli (I used dried chilli flakes instead – just a light sprinkle) 

Spring Onion (swapped this for a red onion instead)

1 garlic clove

1 tsp Sesame oil 

2 tsp Soy sauce 

1 tbsp Peanut Butter

Lemon juice

1 1/2 tsp of Tumeric

1 Chicken breast 


I mixed my chicken in a bowl with the Tumeric and lemon juice and left this to one side. Then I fried off the onion, garlic and chilli flakes in the sesame oil for a few minutes. Once cooked I added a couple of tbsp of water and then whacked in the peanut butter to make a thick sauce. Quickly add in your spinach, and courgette in my case, and stir around in the pan for a couple of mins until its wilted a bit and coated in sauce. 

I then plated this up and used the same pan to cook my chicken. Then voila! A super easy and very tasty dinner! 
Evening Snack 


I have the biggest sweet tooth known to man! So more often than not I need some kind of pudding. My favourite thing to do is jazz up a bowl of yogurt. I mix natural greek style yogurt with some cocoa powder then get creative with my toppings. 
Tonight I went for some chopped strawberries, banana, 70% dark chocolate, and granola. This really feels like a treat, but definitely more nutritious than reaching for a slice of cheesecake! 

Leave a Reply

