Chicken & Chorizo Pasta Bake Recipe 

Pasta bakes are perfect all year round. In summer they are perfect with a salad, and in winter they are hearty and comforting. For my blog I am all about easy and simple recipes. Ones that are packed full of flavour but can still be incorporated into a healthy, balanced diet. 
This recipe is for a chicken and chorizo pasta bake. Chorizo is something I discovered that I loved actually not too long ago. It adds so much flavour to dishes, and is very simple to prepare. So without further a due here is the recipe – 
For 4 portions you will need: 

  • 240g (dry) pasta (I used wholewheat fusilli, but anything will work)
  • 500g carton of passata 
  • 3 garlic cloves
  • 3 peppers 
  • 1 onion
  • 3 chicken breasts
  • Packet of chorizo
  • Parmesan cheese for sprinkling 


To start with you’ll need to chop your veg. Cut the peppers and onion into large chunks and set to the side.

I then cracked on with cooking the chicken. In a large pan put some olive oil, salt and pepper then add in the chicken cut into pieces. Along with the chicken throw in your chorizo, also cut into pieces, and your 3 cloves of garlic. Start cooking this until the chicken has lightly cooked on the outside. This stage smells amazing because the chorizo starts to cook and all the lovely oils and juices flavour the chicken. Delicious! 

Next step is to add the veg to the same pan. Chuck it all in and give it a stir round so it evenly cooks. At the same stage I’d pop your pasta on to cook. 


Now it’s sauce time. For this pasta bake, it’s simple. Add in your carton of passata and give it all a stir. If you decide you want some more sauce then just add a little bit of water to make it slightly more runny. I also add a little bit more seasoning at this stage, in the form of black pepper! 


Let this all simmer together until your pasta is cooked, then add in said pasta and mix it around. 


You could call it quits now and enjoy this as a normal pasta dish… But I LOVE the crispy coating you get with a pasta bake, so I grab a big baking dish and lay my pasta bake mix into it. This is then followed by a sprinkling of parmesan. You could use any cheese, cheddar or mozzarella would be lovely, but I love the taste of parmesan, so stuck with that. Now your creation is ready for the oven. 


Place your bake in the oven at 180 degrees for about 30 minutes. As I said I love a crispy top, so if you’re not so keen maybe take it out after about 20 minutes. 


Once it’s out divide into your portions and tuck in. This is amazing the next day as well. I’ve taken it to work for lunch and it was very enjoyable. Any dinner that makes tasty lunch leftovers is a winner in my book! 

Leave a Reply

