Foodie Friday #1

The Pig and Pastry Edition 
I’m from York and month by month there seems to be a new cafe or restaurant that pops up. If any of you follow me on Instagram (@emmastayinghealthy) you’ll know I’m huge foodie. So I’m going to make these posts whenever I’ve been out for some top notch food in York and beyond that I just need to share.

Brunch is up there with one of my top things to do. The food is amazing, and nowadays there are so many places that do it you’re just spoilt for choice! Last weekend I’d just got back from holiday so was in major need of some perking up. So I popped out to the nicest Cafe on Bishopthorpe road called The Pig and Pastry. The name alone makes me want to go – but once you get in and sample the food you’ll be seriously hooked.

It’s a quaint place inside, with enough seating to satisfy the crowds but not too much to loose it’s snug cafe feel. Just perch yourself on one of the stools by the window and get ready to peruse the menu.

imageimage

Brunch for me means avocado. So naturally I went for the avocado on toast, and ordered a side of chorizo to go with – match made in heaven. But they do a vast amount of things including porridge, pancakes, pretty much anything on toast, and a good old fry up.

image

I then ordered a cheeky dessert. They have so many cakes on offer, and all homemade. I opted for a chocolate brownie with a pastry crust and it was delicious, all washed down with a cup of tea.

imageimage

I recommend making a trip here if you’ve got a spare Saturday morning on your hands, or even a weekday to avoid the weekend rush. Just bare in mind they’re shut on a Sunday. No matter what the weather it is a lovely place. Even on the grey British summers day I went, it was still as fabulous as ever.

image

Have you ever been to The Pig and Pastry? Let me know if you go!

Leave a Reply

