How I make Banana Bread 

I love making this banana bread. First of all I love baking, I find it strangely relaxing (Just hate the washing up at the end!) and secondly, it is so easy and fuss free! It has very few ingrediants, which I like, and it tastes so delicious, especially with nutella or peanut butter on top. Perfect for breakfast, or just a nice afternoon pick me up. So lets get into it… 

You will need…

 
– 3 ripe bananas 

– 2 cups of self raising flour 

– 1/2 cup of light soft brown sugar 

– 2 eggs 

– 1 tsp of bicarbonate of soda 

– 1 tsp of mixed spice (or you can just use cinnamon) 

– 1 cup of skimmed milk (or almond milk) 

–  Fry light for greasing 

– Optional addins: Raisins, chia seeds, bluberries, raspberries,  peanut butter, chococlate chips… 

 

Also you will need 2 quite large bowls and a loaf tin! 

Step 1: 

   

 

Set your oven to 170 degrees. 

Slice the bananas into one of the bowls and then mash them with a fork! I quite like to leave some big chunks of banana still left in as it makes the bread a bit more gooey. 

Step 2: 

   

 

Add the rest of the wet ingrediants in the bowl (2 eggs and 1 cup of milk) and then mix together until everyting is combined. 

Step 3: 

   

 

Then in the other bowl add all of the dry ingrediants (Flour, Bicarbonate of soda, mixed spice, sugar) and again mix until combined.

Step 4:

   

  

  

 

Pour the dry ingrediants into the wet and start mixing. As you can see your mixture will go a bit lumpy but keep going and eventually it will become nice and smooth. You can now mix through any optional addins that you fancy. But i’m just keeping mine nice and simple! 

Step 5: 

  

Get your loaf tin and spray will fry light as we don’t want our bread to stick! You can use anything for this, olive oil, butter… but I just chose fry light because its just so easy to just spray it on all sides. 

Step 6: 

   

 

Then pour your mixture into your loaf tin! 

Step 7: (Optional)

  

I had some leftover mixture so decided to put the rest into these muffin cases! Feel to free to distribute all of your mixture into muffin cases, i’ve done that before and they turn out just as good, and can be even easier to just grab and go! 

Step 8:

Pop your muffins and/or loaf into the oven. 

For the loaf it usually takes between 50-60 minutes to cook. I  generally check it at about 40 minutes and put a skewer through it to test. If at this point the top of your loaf is as brown as you want it then pop some tin foil over the top for the rest of the cooking time. 

For the muffins, they generally take about 30 minutes. 

Step 9: 

Take your banana bread out of the oven! 

  
For the loaf I would suggest to leave it in the loaf tin for about 5-10 minutes, and then pop it out onto a cooling wrack. Don’t worry if it looks a little soggy at the bottom, its just the gooey banana and once its cooled that will solidify more. I would leave the loaf to cool for about 20 minutes before cutting. 

For the muffins, just place on a cooling wrack like you usually woud for any buns! 

Now it’s time to enjoy a nice freshly baked warm slice! 

   

I leave half of the slices in a container to eat during the next week and then I freeze the rest. They are perfect for freezing because if you want them in the morning just take them out the night before, leave them on the side and they will be ready for you at breakfast time! Or take them straight from the freezer and heat up in the microwave! 

I enjoy mine with Nutella, Peanut Butter, Agave nectar, Honey, ice cream! The possibilities are endless.  

One thought on “How I make Banana Bread 

  1. I found your banana cake recipe on Google yesterday, I tried making it myself today and oh my god, I fell in love! I added chocolate chips on top of mine and all I wanted to do was demolish it all. Luckily I managed to control myself after the 3rd piece I had, so tomorrow I shall be hitting the gym hard. However I just wanted to thank you for posting such a delicious recipe! Also, side note, I’d love to have your Instagram if you have it, but if you don’t then I did include my Email on here, look forward to seeing more recipes in the future. Have a great day and thank you again! 😄 P.S. My Instagram name is breakfastlunchdinner_ and you’ll see I posted my banana cake on there today, so if you do add me on there, just comment to let me know it’s you!!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

