Healthy Breakfast Ideas

Breakfast is by far my favourite meal of the day. The thought of having to leave the house without it just upsets me a little! and I don’t know about anyone else, but I wake up absolutely starving and beeline for the kitchen.

About a year ago I made the conscious choice to become more healthy and make better choices with my food. Now that doesn’t mean all I survive on is leaves, I love food and enjoy a hearty meal, but I just wanted to make sure what I was putting into my body was all the good stuff. (and the occasional… ok, quite frequent… naughty treat!) In fact now I’m writing I might do a blog post with ideas for each meal of the day, but lets start with good old breakfast!

These are breakfasts I always have, I just rotate depending on what I fancy that morning or how hungry I am. They’re all pretty quick and easy, and one of them can be eaten straight away with no prep in the morning, could it get much better?! So without further ado, lets get cooking!

Porridge.

One of the most comforting breakfasts there is. Now we’re heading into winter this is basically what I live off in the morning, so filling and satisfying, and you get 2 of your 5 a day!

1168399_817737974957155_217138579_n

You will need:

70g of oats, 250ml almond milk, 1 tsp chia seeds (optional), 1 tsp vanilla extract, handful of blueberries (fresh or frozen), honey, 1 banana.

– add oats, chia seeds, almond milk, vanilla extract and blueberries into a pan

– put the pan on a medium heat and stir the oats then leave them to start boiling

– after 2-3 minutes stir again, and keep stirring until the porridge reaches your desired consistency

– pour into a bowl, top with chopped banana and honey and voila!

Your breakfast is served and I promise you wont be disappointed.

Overnight oats.

This is for the people out there who need to rush out the door in the morning. With these oats there is no excuse that you don’t have any time for breakfast! no preparation needed, all you have to do is grab them before you leave the house. (and don’t forget a spoon!)

10623609_841838529183175_1188789527_n

You will need:

70g oats, 250ml almond milk, 10g of hot chocolate powder, 1 banana

All you do is mix the oats, milk, and hot chocolate powder together in a container and pop in the fridge overnight, its as simple as that! Then whilst you’re getting your beauty sleep the oats will be soaking up that yummy chocolaty milk ready for you when you wake up! I like to top mine with banana in the morning, because a morning without a banana is just not acceptable in my opinion.

You could add so many other things too…. literally any piece of fruit you have lying around, some peanut butter, or if you want to feed that chocolate craving, a spoonful of Nutella is complete perfection.

Peanut butter and banana bagel.

This one is pretty self explanatory, but sometimes the most simple things can be the best. I love using wholemeal bagels and then always add the peanut butter as soon as the bagel has popped out of the toaster, that way it will melt and be all gooey and delicious. Then naturally add on top the obligatory banana. I even sprinkle mine with a bit of cinnamon if I’m feeling fancy!

10598479_565972286861569_537871619_n

This literally has me dribbling at my laptop screen. I know what I’m having tomorrow morning.

Fruity Parfait.

My fourth and final healthy breakfast idea is something slightly lighter than the previous options. So if you’re not someone that does wake up hungry, unlike me who is ravenous, then this could be the one for you! The combination of sweet fruit and tangy greek yogurt is something I personally can not get enough of.

10623616_855615341122981_767552558_n

You will need:

150g of greek yogurt, 1 banana, 1 nectarine (or any other fruit, sometimes I use grapes, chopped apple or even plums!), 45g of muesli (I use Tesco no added sugar apple and cinnamon muesli, if you haven’t already go and buy some please, its amazing) but if you are wanting something even lighter then just get rid of the muesli.

So all you do is layer these ingredients in a large glass until you fill it to the top! Simple. I’m a little bit OCD with my layering of this breakfast, it has to look good or I just wont enjoy it as much. Anyone else have to present their food in a certain way or it just doesn’t seem worth it? no, just me? thought so!

I hope you’ve enjoyed these suggestions for some healthy breakfasts. Just remember, don’t skip breakfast, its important and more to the point, its delicious!

 <a href=”http://www.bloglovin.com/blog/12957149/?claim=3nt9fk9msav”>Follow my blog with Bloglovin</a>

Leave a Reply

